To: Cc: Dr. Danielle Ripich—President

Sustainability Coordinator is in the best interests of the university to demonstrate UNE's commitment to our Core Value of environmental stewardship and to save costs related to the use of resources and energy on campus. The EC continues to work closely with the Sustainability Coordinator to identify, promote and develop specific projects that could bring cost savings through energy efficiencies and waste reductions, as well as demonstrate environmental stewardship.

Presidents' Climate Commitment

On November 3, 2008, UNE became a signatory of the Presidents' Climate Commitment. The Presidents' Climate Commitment (PCC) provides a framework and support for America's colleges and universities to obtain climate neutrality. It recognizes the unique role of university presidents and chancellors in leading their institutions toward achieving climate neutrality, and in providing the critical education and research necessary to help society re-stabilize the world's climate. This framework has put UNE in a community of like-minded campuses, and provided resources to guide UNE's path toward climate neutrality. Soon after signing the agreement, President Ripich appointed staff, faculty, and student members to a PCC Action Planning Team, which continues to meet on a monthly basis. The team is taking steps to augment several of the actions specified by the Commitment, which UNE had already fulfilled prior to signing the PCC. The EC is well represented on the team through the membership of Michael Daley and Alethea Cariddi, who also chairs the Action Planning Team.

Strategic Planning Process

The EC efforts to be involved in the university's strategic planning process came to fruition in the fact that environmental stewardship features prominently in many of the colleges' and departments' strategic plans, as well as that of the university itself. The EC will continue to encourage all parties to now back up their stated plans for environmental sustainability with concrete actions.

UNE Recycling Program

Two work-study students, under the direction of Elisabeth Haase (chair of EC Recycling Subcommittee) and Alethea Cariddi, implemented a single-sort recycling program on the Portland Campus during the summer of 2008. The system consists of three color-coded bins, strategically located around campus. The bin flip-top lids for the trash (gray) and single-sort recycling (green) are identical, providing for identical waste disposal experiences. Signage on the walls and lid tops indicate the types of waste that can be put in each bin. During the school year 2008-2009, we estimate that 360 cubic yards of material went to the Ecomaine recycling facility from the Portland Campus.

The paper recycling system at the Biddeford Campus was improved by increasing signage on receptacles and engaging housekeeping staff in a dialogue about the recycling program. Moving to single-sort recycling at the Biddeford Campus has not progressed due to a funding challenge. The bins will cost approximately \$12,000 and a system for collection will need to be devised to support the switch. Additionally the recycling market has fallen, so there currently is little cost avoidance by diverting trash from MERC.

potential as a leader in environmental health and stewardship. Overall, the Environmental Council remains active, energetic, and on-task in developing its message of environmental stewardship at UNE.

Respectfully submitted:

Michael Daley and Rick Peterson Co-chairs UNE Environmental Council

Voting EC Members Academic Year 2008/2009

- 1. Rick Peterson (Co-Chair)—Associate Professor Environmental Studies
- 2. Mike Daley (Co-Chair)—Assistant Professor Business Administration
- 3. Bill Bola—Campus Services Director of Contract Management
- 4. Elisabeth Haase—Director of EH&S
- 5. Alethea Cariddi—Sustainability Coordinator
- 6. Neal Jandreau—University Relations Web Manager
- 7. Nichole Connelly—Institutional Advancement
- 8. Joel Pelletier—PC Student Affairs
- 9. Ian Meng—Assistant Professor Physiology
- 10. Eileen Dunfey—CHP Faculty Dental Hygiene Department
- 11. Regi Robnett—Associate Professor Occupational Therapy
- 12. Tim Kinne—Business Office
- 13. Laurie Mathes—WCC Library Circulation Coordinator
- 14. Chelsea Amaio—CAS Student, Environmental Studies
- 15. John Zannino—Student CAS Environmental Studies
 Mike Appel—Student CAS Political Science & Environmental Studies
- 16. Lindsey Wilhelm—Student COM

Walter Sussman—Student COM

Kate Lewis—Student COM

Dan Sheps—Student COM

Alan Thibeault— (Ex-officio) Campus Planner